It’s a Bird…It’s a Plane…No, it’s HOPE!

“It’s a bird…It’s a plane… No, mommy, it’s SUPERMAN!!!”

I think most mothers of a son will or have already heard this line repeated a time or two. Well, maybe not those exact words, but as a mother of a little boy, you may have heard some type of superhero phrase repeated in your home.

You may have, or will have a superhero theme birthday party, at least once in his lifetime.

I’m almost positive, he has or will have, at least own one pair of superhero pajamas.

In addition, your little “superhero”, may have or will, dress in his favorite comic book hero costume, for Halloween, or to simply play “dress up”.

I’m the mother of a 2-year-old little man.  The “superhero” stage has just begun, and I think he will “outgrow” this stage in a couple of years.

mikesuperhero

Well, I did put an emphasis on the word “think”, because the revenue that the comic book industry generates, leads me to believe, a lot of  little “men”, won’t “outgrow” their fascination of a classic superhero.

For example, in the past decade, there has been multiple classic hero movies release.  Below is a chart from boxofficemojo.com, that list the gross sells, of a few of those movies, on opening weekends.

stat2

These opening weekend gross earnings, reveal that children and adults alike are enticed by an entertaining story of a superhero.

I think people are intrigued by the main theme displayed throughout a typical, superhero based comic and the movies produced. That theme is…..

THE MESSAGE OF HOPE!

In the comics, the superhero Batman, gives a sense of hope by restoring order, from the “bad guys” in the fictitious city of Gotham. Superman was sent from a “fallen” planet, Krypton, as a last vessel of “hope”, to protect Earth. Captain America was created to defeat the axis power of evil, giving hope, during a depressing time in American history.

However, in the life of a Christian, we look to the stories of the Holy Bible, for the theme of hope.

“What is the Christian hope?”

Our hope is in Jesus Christ and Jesus Christ alone. He is the Hope. He is the restoration of order, in all things great and small. He defeats our enemies. He is our protection.

“For in You, O Lord, I hope; You will hear, O Lord my God.” Psalm 38:15 ,and

Hebrews 6:19 “This hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and steadfast…

Jesus also, left us with a symbol of hope. No it’s not a diamond shape, with an “S” in the middle, nor does law enforcement shine a light in the sky to signal.

It’s actually quite plain. Our symbol is the old rugged cross, where He poured out the ULTIMATE HOPE.  His mercy and tender love for all of mankind, was done on that cross. He made a way, when there was no way possible.

whitecross

quoteromans

WE CAN BE MESSENGERS OF THIS HOPE.

Let’s face it; we live in a fallen world. People are desperate for hope. They want to know, is this life worth living. People want to feel secure, loved and accepted.

Give them HOPE, in the One that is our Hope.

One of my favorite, faithful bold messengers of hope in the Bible, which I pray my son will admire, was Isaiah.

Isaiah’s entire ministry was to proclaim the coming Messiah, our HOPE.

When the Lord asked “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Isaiah said “Here am I! Send me.” (Isaiah 6:8)

What a powerful answer! I pray that I raise my son to be a man who wants to be a messenger, just like Isaiah.

But for now, I’ll let my little Mike save the day, dressed like Superman. My deep desire is that he holds onto the prayers I whisper in his ear at night “The world is crying, they are looking for someone, something to put their hope in. Come along aside them son, and tell them of a hope named JESUS.”

  Signature

 

 

2 thoughts on “It’s a Bird…It’s a Plane…No, it’s HOPE!

Leave a Reply

