Are My Friends Making My Hand Change?

I was in my bedroom relaxing, on a beautiful summer afternoon, when my 7 year-old daughter, walked in and asked, in a serious tone, “Mommy, can I talk to you about something?”

“Sure, what’s up?” I stated, as I petted the bed, hinting for her to sit next to me.

“Well, it’s about one of my friends.”

“Okay, what about her?” I replied.

“Well, she is kind of, getting on my nerves. She wants to control everything I do, and sometimes, I don’t want to play with her because she’s bossy.”

I also notice that my daughter was starting to pick up those habits, and become a little “bossy” herself.

The conversation ended, with me suggesting that she focus on the good in her friend and to take a break from seeing her for a couple of days.

Now, a few months later, as I was driving home, I thought about that conversation with my daughter. The Lord, put it on my heart, on how to share with her, the importance of making godly friendships and the effects of that choice.
friendship

 

First, I filled up the bathroom sink with water, and told her to soak, her hand in it for a few minutes.

After about 3-5 minutes, we took her hand out and we couldn’t see much change, other than her hand was wet.

Next, she dipped it back in for a little longer. Every now and then, I would check her hand, until eventually it was wrinkle. (25 minutes).

We went outside in the dark after this, and I told her to grab my Bible and a coat. (We go outside, because this country girl feels closer to God, when I am close to nature).

So, we look at the stars a bit and I tell her, what was on my heart.

I open up to this, 2 Corinthians 6:14 and part of verse 16. “Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness?  And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God.
I explain to her, that I pray that she makes wise choices in friendships, and it absolutely matters whom she surrounds herself with.

Just like her hand in the water, it didn’t change right away, but after a while, after being surrounded and having her hand in the water, her hand started to change and look different.

I stated that I will not be able to choose her friends and who she chooses to fellowship with, but I can show her the wisdom in the word of God.

It is not wise to think that you can have bonded relationships with just anyone, without being effected in your heart, way of thinking and attitude. It may not show up right away, but continue in a relationship/friendship with the unbeliever and it will show itself sooner or later.

hands

I try to lead by example and explain, to her that I will not be with her at every step in life

Finally, we ended the night, with verse 10, “finding out what is acceptable to the Lord, and have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness…..” I explain, for her to be friendly and kind to everyone, but choose the “fellowships” very carefully.

Now, as she journeys life, with different friendships, she says, she will ask herself, “Is my friend, making my “hand” change?”

May this seed of truth, sprout His fruit and be done for His glory, in her life.

 

Signature

 

 

12 thoughts on “Are My Friends Making My Hand Change?

  1. wow, what a great way to explain friendships! That is so completely true in choosing who we fellowship with. I tell my boys the same thing, be nice to everyone but choose your friends wisely. Pray for them and always do or say what you know, in your heart, is true to God because in the end, we are accountable for our own actions.

  2. I enjoyed reading your post. You did a great job illustrating the change for your daughter. We went through similar things with our daughters and friendships. I am sure it is an ongoing lesson since they are only 9 and 6. It is great when they begin to discern things for themselves, and you can see the spirit leading them.

  3. I love it! God has such a way, doesn’t He? That is an amazing way to teach your child the word of God and a life long lesson about friendships. If only we could re-program some of these adults. While I pray that we as people learn to be loving and tolerant of each other and our differences, we need to understand the difference between associates and friends or as T.D. Jakes wrote – know the difference between Confidents, Constituents and Comrades.

    You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

